A View from the Wheelhouse

My art show goes up in a week and now the most difficult part has arrived–the Artist’s Statement.  But in this odious task, which I’ve always dreaded, I may have a small advantage.   I’ve actually been working on it since I began this series, some three months ago.  I only need glean the relevant bits from my blog posts and tidy them up.  Right.

 

Blake saw Albion (universal Man) held in deadly sleep, in thrall to satanic, scientific-materialism that separated him from Jerusalem, his emanation, and the Heaven within himself.

The Gnostics taught that soul is imprisoned in matter; that Gnostic experience is a return to Divinity through overcoming the demonic forces (Archons) who hold humanity in bondage to dense spheres of matter.  These teachings informed much of Blake’s work.

His work also reflects the Neoplatonic doctrine that acknowledges the primacy of the spiritual world and…

View original post 355 more words