The Waiting

I think the good thing about having a birthday in the middle of January is the timing. The first week of the month, everyone is running around busy making resolutions and unintentionally motivating me not to make resolutions because I see them eating a box of donuts only thirty minutes after declaring a New Years sugar cleanse. I resolve to resolve to do nothing, ticking off that New Years box feeling like I got away with cheated the system.

But then, by the time my birthday rolls around, I realize that my pesky subconscious has been plotting against me all along and that I actually want to do good things for myself. And just to clarify, while drinking coffee is indeed a beautiful – nay, scrumptrulescent – thing and it makes me a better human on a daily basis, I can’t convince my tricky subconscious that drinking more of it…

View original post 510 more words